Tips on a tip.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tips on a tip.

Hi. I am currently using a Talisman medium but I want a change. It just doesn't seem right to me. It doesn't seem to hold chalk well and isn't the most responsive tip I've used but I am still a beginner. I want a tip that is better for spin and I heard harder tips are better if you use power more often. Being a 8 ball player I feel cue ball control is much more important. Can anyone give me any recommendations please? Thanks.

hey there, i have tried the talisman tip and must admit i experienced the same problems so tried a kamui MH tip and it certainly ticks all the box's for me. i know a lot of it is down to technique and so forth but since using the kamui i can easily screw the cue ball from the bulk line pot the object ball in line with the pink spot and have the cue ball back in bulk.....ok i might miss a few shots lol
    but....
    on my 8 ball cue i have always used an elk master, i've never been tempted to try a laminated tip as the elk ticks all the boxes
    hope this helps

Comment

Thanks for the reply. I have heard that its hard to find a good Elk so that's my only concern with those.

Comment

its not that hard to find a good elk, try and push your thumb nail into the side of the tip, if it sinks in deep its too soft and no good, if it just leaves a small mark it will be good, the less your nail sinks in the harder the tip. personally id suggest you the Buffalo Diamond Plus tips, they're brilliant

Comment

Originally Posted by Dave Walton View Post
          its not that hard to find a good elk, try and push your thumb nail into the side of the tip, if it sinks in deep its too soft and no good, if it just leaves a small mark it will be good, the less your nail sinks in the harder the tip. personally id suggest you the Buffalo Diamond Plus tips, they're brilliant