Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is a 9mm tip too small for a fairly novice player?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is a 9mm tip too small for a fairly novice player?

All,

I have a Parris Ambassador (9mm) which I have started playing with and seem to be playing ok. I am a fairly novice player (breaks of 30-40). Is this tip really to o small for me and should I get a cue with a larger tip to improve my game quicker until my cueing is of a better standard (Years to come).

Your thoughts please!!

Its really an individual choice , some people prefer a 9mm tip while others will go for 9.5-10mm it all depends what suits you better and what youre used to i suppose .I think You ,ve got to be more accurate with a smaller tip especially if you,re not cueing well or straight as any unintentional side will be amplified .

If youre used to a 9 mil tip and considering goint to a 9.5 or 10 mill then i think you need to give yourself a fair amount of practice before deciding if it suits you or not , I doubt if you,ll adjust straight away . I think 9.5 is most popular nowdays

Comment

You could try sticking a 10mm tip on and having a mushroom tip and see how you get on with that before making a decision?
      sigpic A Truly Beakerific Long Pot Sir!

Comment

I have the same cue and have the same doubts lol.
        I seem to knock in 30s n 40s all the time, but my biggest break is only 77.
        I have a spare cue that is 9.5mm and I am gonna experiment before I buy a new cue, gonna consider few dif brands but im near to John Parris so i'll prob go and get an Ultimate from him
        Highest Match Break - 77
        Highest Practice Break - 101, 106, 111
        Highest Breaks of 2010 - 76-65-62-61-60-60-59-57

Comment

Originally Posted by whufcarl View Post