Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

cue maker question, can an arrow be added on an ash shaft?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cue maker question, can an arrow be added on an ash shaft?

i have a one piece master rocket cue, which has a few arrows down shaft but they stop at around 12 inches from tip and then is blank. pretty like maple really.
    however the cue plays quite well, but am used to an arrow or two near tip as my reference point.

was wondering if it is possible to add an arrow down shaft? why i ask is ive seen on dave coutts site a maple cue with walnut in lays? http://www.couttscues.co.uk/gallerycues.html
    (the supreme cue)

that would be perfect for my cue, but think this is done when the cue is being made? and not after its finshed, i maybe wrong.
    ive emailed dave, awaiting his reply.

anyone have info on this?

thanks.

Lol.......

Thing is mate the ash shaft is what it is & any attempt to add grain will mean it won't match the natural grain of the rest of the cue, so you pretty much have to accept it as it is & be happy, or sell it & find one that suits you perfectly but that means finding a perfect piece of ash ( meaning perfect for you ) on a cue thats already made or asking a cue maker to make you a cue stating your requirements about the ash, which is a time comsuming expensive process as so many shafts have to be looked through hence JP Ultimates being expensive as thats what your paying for the grain ie even arrows etc

Only other thing you could do if you love this cue is draw an arrow or two on the shaft just where you want them with a black permanent marker, even though they won't match with the others because the grain is naturally what it is and it won't make it play any different, basically an ash shaft is selected grain filled and the pattern is what it is any attempts to alter it just won't look right...........;-)

Comment

I can't believe you asked that Matty
      Get the crayons out

Comment