Always catch right knuckle

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Always catch right knuckle

Hi there, I'm a relative newcomer to snooker, i have been playing for a few months and I play once a week and my highest break is 27.
    Recently i have been catching the right knuckle every time i miss a shot. i seem to be striking left across the cue ball (i'm right-handed). no matter how i concentrate i can't seem to rectify it. the only way i have been able to straighten it up is to twist my wrist at a right-angle but this after a while becomes impractical because it just doesn't feel natural.
    the problem only seems to affect potting, I'm very happy with my safety play and seem able to strike the object ball well at safety play. this problem has crept into my play recently and seems to be getting worse.
    any ideas on how to fix it, initially i thought it might be my stance as my arm seems to cath my hip something when i'm lining up a shot.
    thanks

Ufortunately you didn't say which knuckle was catching where, so I'll assume it's your right thumb catching your trousers or your hip either during the backswing or delivery.

This is a simple thing to correct by twisting the back a bit more and bending the left leg just a touch more, which will swing the hips to the left a bit and clear the path for your grip hand.

The other problem could be you have the cue running too far underneath your body, i.e. - inside the right nipple. This is not a very serious fault and can still be corrected by using the above method, however you should check your right elbow alignment over the cue, using either a mirror or else a friend to see how far out of alignment the elbow is. Under 2in or so is not serious, but over 3in says that you are not setting up correctly in your stance and you should review all the stance tips on here in the coaching string

Terry
    Terry Davidson
    IBSF Master Coach & Examiner

Comment