A sudden breakthrough?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A sudden breakthrough?

Something interesting happened to me today. I was practicing solo for about 3 hours. For background info, my objective now is to get fluency is my cueing, and to just pot ball after ball. So I line up all 21 balls between black and brown and try to pot all of them in one go (i.e. 21 pots in a row). My best is 20 pots (i.e. one ball left), with my overall average increasing to the last 4-5 balls. I also practice the 'line-up' with 5 reds between black and pink spot (with my average also increasing to 3 black, and making 4 blacks occasionally, and 6 blacks is my best). I've been doing this for the last 2 months. During this time I've been working on my cueing, sighting, stance etc. To give you some background on my level of play, in a match, my highest break is like 30 plus (made many many years ago, and I seldom make breaks above 20, so I'm a novice for sure).

Anyway, in the last 1.5 hours today, I told myself let's try a longer back pause. So I pause for 1-2 seconds, then pot the ball. I'm definitely looking at only the object ball when I forward swing. I found that my potting improved. I occasionally 'forgot' and out of bad habit when back to my normal very short pause (but still a pause, say 0.5-1 second), but this time I took the pause to the extreme and held the cue back for even up to 3-4 seconds. Just holding the cue there for a long time before making the forwardswing. After awhile I was consistently pausing for up to 2 seconds, total standstill before I pushed my forearm forward for the forward swing.