If this is your first visit, be sure to
check out the FAQ by clicking the
link above. You may have to register
before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages,
select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
My partner played out of turn and it was not noticed until after his break and he was no longer at the table. Is this a foul since it was not called while he was playing or while he was the striker?
My partner played out of turn and it was not noticed until after his break and he was no longer at the table. Is this a foul since it was not called while he was playing or while he was the striker?
Thanks,
Trapper
If no other stroke has occurred at point of the Out of Turn noticed by anyone, then it is a Foul. Penalty Points would be value of Ball On at last stroke. This comes down to the "when discovered" principle; therefore, any such points scored prior to the final stroke would be condoned. The final stroke would be deemed a Foul and penalty points awarded as appropriate - value of ball on in your scenario.
Moving forward, the offending side will "lose a turn" to correct the order of play in that frame, reordering back to original order of play.
"Sec 3.18 Four-handed Snooker
(c) … If the FOUL was called for playing out of turn, the offender’s partner will lose a turn, …"
When I have played four-handed (four-singles) or doubles we ensure we write on the chalkboard or somewhere, the order of play - better still you also nominate one person or a fifth to monitor the scoreboard and order of play.
Yes it makes sense. If they ask us to play again at that point, which one of us would have to play?
Thanks,
Trapper
Sec 18 Four-handed Snooker
(c) ...If the FOUL was called for playing out of turn, the offender’s partner will lose a turn, whether or not the offender is asked to play again.
Additional note - "To avoid possible confusion, in the second sentence 'lose a turn' might be better as 'lose that turn', i.e. he may not come to the table immediately after his partner has been fouled for playing out of turn."
hi there
I passed your question to a contact of mine who is a top referee, here is his reply
"In answer to your question.... If the striker had left the table at the end of a non-scoring stroke and the referee is happy the turn has ended, he can't be fouled for playing out of turn as it is no longer his turn.
In addition:
If he is on a break and it is noticed, the break counts up until the foul and the value of the foul is the last ball on they played.
The next team would take their turn and after that it would be the turn of the player who fouled out of turn previously. Meaning his own partner would miss a turn, this will now correct the order."
Comment