Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

being snookered

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • being snookered

    Hi everyone, what happens if the last red on the table is surrounded by colours and is un-hittable?

  • #2
    re-rack if someone doesn't hit it somehow
    2007 TSF Pot Black prediction contest winner
    2010 TSF Welsh Open Predict the qualifiers winner

    Comment


    • #3
      re rack or play as though going to hit it and hopefully leave it safe and not a free ball

      Comment


      • #4
        Play towards it with sufficient strength that you would hit it if it were available and it shouldn't be called a miss.

        Has been asked before more than once. Search for the impossible snooker thread

        EDIT: just found it see here http://www.thesnookerforum.com/board...ssible+snooker
        sigpic A Truly Beakerific Long Pot Sir!

        Comment


        • #5
          Has been answered many times, search for "impossible snooker"...

          Comment


          • #6
            not quite the same
            2007 TSF Pot Black prediction contest winner
            2010 TSF Welsh Open Predict the qualifiers winner

            Comment


            • #7
              what's the exact difference between

              - impossible snooker, and
              - last red surrounded by colors, unhittable?

              rules-wise?

              hmm...

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally Posted by Krypton View Post
                what's the exact difference between

                - impossible snooker, and
                - last red surrounded by colors, unhittable?

                rules-wise?

                hmm...

                Indeed.

                When we think of an impossible snooker, we usually think of the cue-ball being surrounded by colours in a pocket jaw, or in the pack of reds when you've just potted one.

                But it can just as easily be the ball on that is surrounded.

                It actually only takes the last red, or the cue-ball, to come to rest against the cushion and two colours to come to rest either side of it, close by, to result in an impossible snooker.

                Comment


                • #9
                  being snookered

                  Thanks for that! So what the rules are saying is that if the last red is surrounded by colours and cant be hit you are allowed to purposely hit one of the colours and accept the value of that colour as a foul? Then what does the opponent do if left in the same situation? In theory one player could have potted 14 reds and colours and be left in this situation? Will this eventually lead to a re-rack even if one player is maybe 70 points ahead?

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally Posted by justform1 View Post
                    Thanks for that! So what the rules are saying is that if the last red is surrounded by colours and cant be hit you are allowed to purposely hit one of the colours and accept the value of that colour as a foul? Then what does the opponent do if left in the same situation? In theory one player could have potted 14 reds and colours and be left in this situation? Will this eventually lead to a re-rack even if one player is maybe 70 points ahead?
                    No, definitely no re-rack.

                    You must play with sufficient strength to hit the ball if it weren't for the 'impossible' surroundings. (This covers the case of the white stuck in the reds, meaning that you cannot just 'tap' the white, you must 'pretend' to play for a colour.)

                    As long as your 'attempt' fulfils the above, it will just be a foul in the normal way. Otherwise a Miss can still be called.

                    I would imagine the player would probably want to hit it fairly hard to remove the impossible situation – otherwise, as after any foul, his opponent will just keep putting him in again and collect a load of foul points (and, indeed, would have a free ball each time as well!).

                    Comment

                    Working...
                    X