If this is your first visit, be sure to
check out the FAQ by clicking the
link above. You may have to register
before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages,
select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
A referee can never foul a player for not knowing which ball he is playing unless he has been asked to declare and fails to do so. If the referee is not sure what ball is being played he should ask the striker to declare, but he can't foul him because he was uncertain what he was playing.
I agree with Souwesters comment.
The referee must know which ball is on. That is the only way to fairly judge the shot played.
I would definitely ask the striker to declare.
The onus is then on him to make it clear.
Some days I'm the statue.
Some days I'm the pigeon.
Today is a statue kind of day.
Speaking from experience, usually the player dosent have to nominate the colour, for example if it is on its own clearly seperated from the reds and any other colours. However in some club matches i have played in, some players nominate the colour, due to a force of habit, just incase a similar situation arises.
A player can nominate which ball he is 'on' by direction or declaration.
Alan, I think you mean indication or declaration.
So, you can nominate which ball you are playing by indicating - ie by pointing your cue in the direction of a particular ball. Declaration (ie verbally saying what ball you're playing) tends to be in response to a request from the referee, although many players do still declare their colour if taking a free ball.
Section 2:
12. Nominated ball
(a) A Nominated ball is the object ball which the striker declares, or indicates to the satisfaction of the referee, he undertakes to hit with the first impact of the cue-ball.
(b) If requested by the referee, the striker must declare which ball he is on.
I recently qualified as a referee and compete internationally. The rule is that a player is not required to nominate a free ball unless requested to do so.
Whenever I ref a match I always say "please call your free ball before hiting it otherwise I'll call a foul" before the break-off.
I've seen a situation once where guys gone to hit the blue 9as a free ball), completely scuffed the shot and hit the pink behind it and the refs said nothing.
It's not what you pot...it's what you leave.
Leamington & District Billiards & Snooker Association
Whenever I ref a match I always say "please call your free ball before hiting it otherwise I'll call a foul" before the break-off.
I've seen a situation once where guys gone to hit the blue 9as a free ball), completely scuffed the shot and hit the pink behind it and the refs said nothing.
Why?
There is no need, unless it is not obvious. Do you do the same with a colour after a red?
The referee cannot call foul for failure to nominate unless he has requested that the player verbally nominate the free ball – I would take that to mean on the individual shot and not a cover-all request before the match.
The nomination of a ball, be it a free ball or colour after a red, has been debated a lot on this forum.
If you verbally nominate the 'ball' then there is no doubt in the referee or other player's mind as to what ball you are aiming to hit.
The rule does state, '..... to the satisfaction of the referee.' If the referee is in any doubt he will, or should, ask.
The only time when the a player is required to declare which ball he intends to strike first is in a touching "ball on" situation after potting a red. The referee cannot know if the player has selected the touching ball or the ball he is aiming at and therefore the player must declare his intention.
A player must declare which ball he is 'on' when asked to do so by the referee. This can be at any time during the frame where the referee is unclear in his own mind.
If a touching ball is left, the referee shall state 'Touching ball' and, if the ball touching is a colour and potentially a ball 'on', the referee shall add 'Please declare'.
If asked to declare by the referee, the player MUST do so or a foul will be called.
If the ball 'on' is colour, the penalty is 7 points.
Some days I'm the statue.
Some days I'm the pigeon.
Today is a statue kind of day.
Whilst I am not 100% certain, I have always thought it was at the referee's discression regarding the nomination of a ball. I think (to the letter of the law) a referee can call a foul for you failing to nominate a colour, however where it is obvious, the my understanding of the rules are that referee is in no doubt what colour you are playing, so no, he did not have to nominate. I think originally, a player was required to nominate every colour he was playing, after potting a red, and also in a free ball situation, however as mentioned above, I believe this was changed to the referees discression. I also believe that as the opponent, you are within your rights to ask the referee what colour he is playing prior to the shot, although I am not sure on this either. (again though, both would be poor sportsmanship, but you didn't ask about sportsmanship)!
If you want to play the pink, but you're hampered by the red, you could always try to play the brown!
I was responding to the statement that "the player is not required to declare which ball he is on." True, the referee should/must ask at the time he states that the ball on is touching. However, if he (the ref) fails to ask the question: "... nominate please," it should not (in my opinion) relieve the player from his duty to do so and his opponent has the right to claim a foul (7 points) if not declared.
Comment