Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help please

Hi
    I am starting this new post ,because i have developed a problem whilst playing match snooker , that i wish to share with fellow members .

Firstly i will establish my level of ability which is relevant to the post .

I play in a north west of England league on a handicap of around - 20 . i have a high break practice of 118, and 73 in a match .
    So i am a suppose an average club player .

My point, i started playing snooker five years ago after a ten year break ,in that time i reached finals, and played to a reasonably high standard , but since last year , and all of this season [the last ten games ,] when playing match play, [ against ANY standard of player ] i can no longer hold the cue properly , or pot balls that are close together , my arms feel like i have just done 100 press ups , and i jab at every shot , my cue action does not help, i literally cue like Alex Higgins , head up after ball has been struck .[ but it worked for thirty years }
    It i guess must be a nerve problem , but as i stated it does not matter who i play it still happens .

My questions 1. has anybody else suffered this ?
    2. can it be cured ,or does it go on its own accord.
    3 what on earth is wrong .

I would really appreciate any help, as i will have to quit if i cannot sort it .

PS Just to add further point, last night played doubles tournament , same thing happened , lost match , played friendly game after 50 odd break .

Hi Hignbreak ,

Much the same as you . H/B 104 in practice 73 in a match .

Had been cueing poorly for sometime and at the ripe old age of 40 went to see a coach . Told me some pretty basic stuff but some of it was new to me . This then helped me in the next league match i played last week and knocked in the 73 . I seemed to concentrate more due to what i'd been taught . I suppose it gave me better focus .