Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Snooker and bodybuilding/weight training...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Snooker and bodybuilding/weight training...

I've been playing snooker for about 12+ years but only really regularly for the past three, i've alot of hobbies and i don't really want to stop any of them, but i've been wondering lately whether i'd be a more consistent/ better player if i wasn't hitting the gym three times a week..?

Now i know my game suffers the next day or so if i'm working out the shoulders/chest/triceps, i find cueing straight more of a problem, so if i'm playing in the league or a comp i make sure to do those muscle groups straight after the snooker and not before...

I've been training for 3/4 years and have steadily put on some size, but i worry if i get any bigger i'm going to have to change my technique and if i lose my size then my games going to suffer, then i'll be back to square one and having to learn the game from scratch again...

Anyway i guess the point of this is to hear people's experience in whether it can be done successfully or not?
    Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning...

Snooker and bodybuilding/weight training...

I definitely had to open my stance more when my pectorals got bigger. That's the only change to my set up though as a consequence of gaining muscle size. As far as being tender or sore goes, it does indeed affect how straight I put the cue through. I find if I work each muscle group every 4 days then I never get that sore anyway. It's only after not training for a few weeks and then training that I get sore enough for it to affect my game. I try to avoid long lay offs from the gym though, but if I was that sore I would definitely avoid a league match.

Comment

Originally Posted by cain29 View Post