If this is your first visit, be sure to
check out the FAQ by clicking the
link above. You may have to register
before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages,
select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
Yes. In effect the nominated free ball becomes an additional 'ball on'. You can play the free ball onto the actual ball on and pot either one or both of them. If you pot both only one ball is scored and the other is re-spotted.
Yes. In effect the nominated free ball becomes an additional 'ball on'. You can play the free ball onto the actual ball on and pot either one or both of them. If you pot both only one ball is scored and the other is re-spotted.
Terry
What a good question , and answer, I didn't know that thanks Terry.
The important thing is you have to hit the nominated ball first before going on to pot the actual ball on. For example, brown is in the jaws of a pocket with blue in front and causing the snooker. If blue is nominated then it is a legal shot to first strike the blue (as the nominated ball) and then pot either or both the brown and blue.
What you cannot do, however, is the reverse. If the blue is in the jaws and the brown in front of it (and partially obscured say by pink, thus a free ball), then you cannot nominate blue, but first hit the brown to play the plant onto the blue.
The important thing is you have to hit the nominated ball first before going on to pot the actual ball on. For example, brown is in the jaws of a pocket with blue in front and causing the snooker. If blue is nominated then it is a legal shot to first strike the blue (as the nominated ball) and then pot either or both the brown and blue.
What you cannot do, however, is the reverse. If the blue is in the jaws and the brown in front of it (and partially obscured say by pink, thus a free ball), then you cannot nominate blue, but first hit the brown to play the plant onto the blue.
just so we're clear on this, is it ok to simultaneously hit the nominated free ball and a ball on?
just so we're clear on this, is it ok to simultaneously hit the nominated free ball and a ball on?
This is specifically allowed in S3.6
6. Hitting Two Balls Simultaneously
Two balls, other than two Reds or a free ball and a ball on, must not be struck simultaneously by the first impact of the cue-ball.
The important thing is you have to hit the nominated ball first before going on to pot the actual ball on. For example, brown is in the jaws of a pocket with blue in front and causing the snooker. If blue is nominated then it is a legal shot to first strike the blue (as the nominated ball) and then pot either or both the brown and blue.
What you cannot do, however, is the reverse. If the blue is in the jaws and the brown in front of it (and partially obscured say by pink, thus a free ball), then you cannot nominate blue, but first hit the brown to play the plant onto the blue.
so you are snookered on the reds from a foul take the green say as a free ball thin cut,miss it but cannon into the reds and fluke one,foul or no foul?
so you are snookered on the reds from a foul take the green say as a free ball thin cut,miss it but cannon into the reds and fluke one,foul or no foul?
I would say foul because you have to hit the nominated ball
Comment