If this is your first visit, be sure to
check out the FAQ by clicking the
link above. You may have to register
before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages,
select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
Correct you are not snookered BUT there is no straight path to full ball contact so a warning will not be given; only further Fouls and a Miss calls, if the referee deems you have to the best of your ability to hit the ball on, etc.
The rule for the three attempts says that if there is a straight path to contact the ball on then the warning will be given after the 2nd attempt; as the curved part of the cushion is the obstruction and no such straight path exists, no warning will be given just further Foul and a Miss calls, as appropriate. The rule does not state "being snookered" only a straight path
Correct you are not snookered BUT there is no straight path to full ball contact so a warning will not be given; only further Fouls and a Miss calls, if the referee deems you have to the best of your ability to hit the ball on, etc.
The rule for the three attempts says that if there is a straight path to contact the ball on then the warning will be given after the 2nd attempt; as the curved part of the cushion is the obstruction and no such straight path exists, no warning will be given just further Foul and a Miss calls, as appropriate. The rule does not state "being snookered" only a straight path
Your answer (second para) isn't quite correct. In order for a warning to be given after two misses and a frame lost after a third, you need to have central full ball contact available, not just a straight line path to a ball on.
To clarify to bartito, you don't automatically get a warning after two misses and lose a frame for a third miss just bcause you're not snookered. As stated, you need to have central full ball contact available. In your case, although you are not technically snookered you do not have a straight line path at all to the red, so no warning, no loss of frame... but a miss can still be called.
Your answer (second para) isn't quite correct. In order for a warning to be given after two misses and a frame lost after a third, you need to have central full ball contact available, not just a straight line path to a ball on.
To clarify to bartito, you don't automatically get a warning after two misses and lose a frame for a third miss just bcause you're not snookered. As stated, you need to have central full ball contact available. In your case, although you are not technically snookered you do not have a straight line path at all to the red, so no warning, no loss of frame... but a miss can still be called.
Thanks for the answer, I understood the straight line path as full central ball contact as you mention.
Comment