If you are 13 points in front after potting the pink but then go in off after potting the black (opponent is now 6 behind) does the black get re-spotted and it's a black ball game?
Announcement
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Black Ball Question
Collapse
X
-
Originally Posted by dmorley85 View PostIf you are 13 points in front after potting the pink but then go in off after potting the black (opponent is now 6 behind) does the black get re-spotted and it's a black ball game?
The black does not get respotted unless the scores are level and a tie break occursLast edited by DeanH; 10 December 2017, 03:14 PM.Up the TSF! :snooker:
-
Nope, won't be re-spotted. The frame ends when there's a foul on the final black, except when the difference is 7 points. In this case the guy who fouled the black will give away 7 points but he still won the frame with 6 points. Dean will probably quote you the relevant section in the rule book very soon.
Comment
-
-
Originally Posted by DeanH View Postonly if the player wishes to claim the frame at that point, he does not have to, he may have been going for a 147The bitter taste of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten.
Comment
-
As dmorley85 phrases the question, the frame is over as soon as the pink is potted. The final score may be recorded with the foul 7 added to the losing players total but the frame is still over.I often use large words I don't really understand in an attempt to appear more photosynthesis.
Comment
-
Thanks for the replies everyone. If you were 7 points in front before going for the black but missed hitting the black altogether, does your opponent get 7 points and then carry on where the white finished or is it black back on it's spot and white in the D? Does the black always get re-spotted if it is a draw after you've fouled? Say you over cut the black and go in off and the black is left over the pocket, do you leave the black where it is and white in the D or does the black have to go back on it's spot regardless after the foul? Sorry for all the questions, I'm just a bit unclear on the rules at the end when there is just the black left and you foul etc!
Comment
-
So just to clarify if the score is 40-33, you miscue the white going for the black which is over the pocket, give your opponent 7 points, the score is now equal then black gets re-spotted and white in the D and you don't leave the black where it is and carry on?
Comment
-
Originally Posted by jrc750 View PostYeah that's what I meant, thought that was obvious as whoever wins always has the choiceDuplicate of banned account deleted
Comment
-
Originally Posted by dmorley85 View PostSo just to clarify if the score is 40-33, you miscue the white going for the black which is over the pocket, give your opponent 7 points, the score is now equal then black gets re-spotted and white in the D and you don't leave the black where it is and carry on?Up the TSF! :snooker:
Comment
Comment