I would like to congratulate ther any people who write in and answer questions on the Rules Very rarely are they wrong.
However I would like to point out that when they answer a question about a 'Miss' they are not answering it correctly. The 'Miss' rule is in Section 2 Rule 20 of the rule book and is plainly called 'Miss'. The rule they are trying to answer is the 'FOUL AND A MISS' rule which is in Section 3 Rule 14. When replying to rules questions you should always quote the correct title so as not to cause any confusion. If anyone wrote to me and asked me to explain the 'Miss' rule I would refer to the rule in Section 2 because that is what I have been asked to explain.
Also a couple of times I have noticed that sometims people have said that in the 'Foul and a Miss' situation the striker must be able to see the ball on 'full ball' giving the impression that you must be able to hit it on both sides as in a situation when asking for a 'free ball'. This is incorrect. The rule book states 'there was a clear path in a straight line from the cue-ball to a ball that was on or that could have been on, such that central, full ball, contact was available etc'. In other words you could have three balls in a straight line, Green, Red and Pink with each of the colours touching the Red. Providing that the cue-ball can make 'central, full-ball central contact then there is no problem.
John Street
However I would like to point out that when they answer a question about a 'Miss' they are not answering it correctly. The 'Miss' rule is in Section 2 Rule 20 of the rule book and is plainly called 'Miss'. The rule they are trying to answer is the 'FOUL AND A MISS' rule which is in Section 3 Rule 14. When replying to rules questions you should always quote the correct title so as not to cause any confusion. If anyone wrote to me and asked me to explain the 'Miss' rule I would refer to the rule in Section 2 because that is what I have been asked to explain.
Also a couple of times I have noticed that sometims people have said that in the 'Foul and a Miss' situation the striker must be able to see the ball on 'full ball' giving the impression that you must be able to hit it on both sides as in a situation when asking for a 'free ball'. This is incorrect. The rule book states 'there was a clear path in a straight line from the cue-ball to a ball that was on or that could have been on, such that central, full ball, contact was available etc'. In other words you could have three balls in a straight line, Green, Red and Pink with each of the colours touching the Red. Providing that the cue-ball can make 'central, full-ball central contact then there is no problem.
John Street
Comment