During an Amateur league match last night - and I won't go in to any debate about whether the above rule should even apply but some bright sparks on Committee in our league thinks it should - early in the game a player was tight on the baulk cushion behind the brown and trying to strike a loose red to the right of the pack.
The player miscued and the white struck the brown and went straight in to the middle pocket.
The ref called Foul and a miss.
My question is two fold.
1. Is it a "foul and a miss" if a foul arises from a clear miscue ?
2. Should the " Foul and miss" be called and the option of balls being replaced apply when the white leaves the table and opponent can play from hand ?
Given the circumstances I do not believe it to be in the Spirit of the foul and miss rule.
Some clarity on this would be very much appreciated.
The player miscued and the white struck the brown and went straight in to the middle pocket.
The ref called Foul and a miss.
My question is two fold.
1. Is it a "foul and a miss" if a foul arises from a clear miscue ?
2. Should the " Foul and miss" be called and the option of balls being replaced apply when the white leaves the table and opponent can play from hand ?
Given the circumstances I do not believe it to be in the Spirit of the foul and miss rule.
Some clarity on this would be very much appreciated.
Comment